New Direction for Art Project 156

So for my project in Art 156 I decided to go in a different direction.  It was suggested that I come up with a more sophisticated final project by the professor.  So instead of looking at this project through the eyes of a merchandiser I decided to look through the eyes of an artistt.

What I found most intriguing at the IFF exhibit was the hyperbolic geometry that can be found in the structure of coral. This reminded me of Sacred Geometry which “…permeates the architecture of all form in its myraid diversity. This principle of interconnectedness, inseparability and union provides us with a continuous reminder of our relationship to the whole, a blueprint for the mind to the sacred foundation of all things created.”   So I decided that I would like to incorporate The Flower of Life.  The Flower of Life contains the five platonic solids that contain geometrical forms which are said to be a pattern from which all life is born.

For my Final Project I am going to tie dye a large square canvas.  The colors that I have chosen were influenced by the Universe, the earth, the ocean, and the sunset.  In the center of the canvas there will be a yellow pyramid.  The pyramid is a symbol for the integration of self-and soul. The base of the pyramid represents the body, the sides represent the spiritual attempts, and the pointed top symbolises the harmonious union of the human with the ‘higher self-‘ (God). The color of the pyramid will be yellow representing the sun.  The sun is a symbol of the giver of life. It represents our conscious mind, our will to live and our creative life force.  In the center of the pyramid I will stencil The Flower of Life.  I found a video on youtube to help me create the stencil.    I hope to integrate to other methods a well in order to give my project a professional finish.  I want to stretch the canvas over a wooden frame and give it a glossy finish using these tutorials:

3 thoughts on “New Direction for Art Project 156

  1. Pingback: Final Presentation Art 156 « Luann Ottinger

Leave a Reply

